X Iberoamerican Optics Meeting / XIII Latinamerican Meeting on Optics, Lasers and Applications/Mexican Optics and Photonics Meeting
Cancún, México

September 23 - 27

Section views: 258

Plenary speakers

Ursula Gibson received a Ph.D. in physics from Cornell University in 1982. After Cornell, she joined the faculty of the University of Arizona Optical Sciences Center, becoming an associate professor before moving to the Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth College in 1990. She currently holds a professorship in the Physics department at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), where she has been since 2010. She is also an adjunct professor in the Department of Applied Physics at the KTH Royal Institute of Technology.

She held visiting positions at the United States Air Force Academy, NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center, Tampere University of Technology (Finland), Chalmers University (Sweden), and the University of Queensland (Australia), among others. In 2008, she was awarded a Fulbright Scholarship, working at the VTT Research facility in Espoo, Finland. She has served as a consultant for many enterprises, including Kodak Inc., the US Department of Defense and the American University of Kuwait. In addition to reviewing for journals, other professional activities include service on the Executive Committee of the Vacuum Society of America (Thin Films Division), as an organizer for Materials Society Symposia and on the Editorial Boards for journals such as the Journal of Vacuum Science and Technology, NanoEthics, and Materials Characterization.

Her research on optical materials has been wide ranging, including polymers, protein crystals and semiconductors, with an emphasis on limited dimension structures such as thin films and waveguides. She holds three patents, has authored 7 book contributions and over 100 refereed journal articles with 2300 citations. Prof. Gibson’s present research is focused on semiconductor-core optical fibers.

Zeev Zalevsky received his B.Sc. and direct Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from Tel-Aviv University in 1993 and 1996 respectively. Zeev is currently a full Professor in the faculty of engineering at Bar-Ilan University, Israel. He is the head of the electro-optics track and the director of the nano-photonics center in the nano-technology institute. His major fields of research are optical super resolution, biomedical optics, nano-photonics and electro-optical devices.

Zeev has published more than 480 refereed journal papers, more than 300 conference proceeding papers, more than 530 international presentations. Zeev has about 50 issued patents, 6 authored books, 3 books as an editor and 30 book chapters.

For his research Zeev has received various national and international prizes such as the Krill prize, the International Commission of Optics (ICO) prize and Abbe medal, Juludan prize, the international SAOT (School for Advanced Optical Technologies) Young Researcher Prize, the Lean and Maria Taubenblatt Prize for Excellence in Medical Research, the young investigator award in nanoscience and nanotechnology, the international Wearable Technologies (WT) Innovation World Cup 2012 Prize, OSA Outstanding Reviewer Award, the Image Engineering Innovation Award of the Society for Imaging Science and Technology (IS&T), the Outstanding Young Scientist Award (OYSA) of NANOSMAT, Serial Innovator Award given by the International Wearable Technologies (WT), SPIE Startup Challenge Winner Prize, 2017 Europe Technology Innovation Leadership Award, IAAM Scientist Medal Award for 2017, the Photonics Award (1st place) at Startup World in Munich, the Dr. Horace Furumoto Innovations Professional Young Investigator Award given by the ASLMS (American Society for Laser Medicine and Surgery), The Asian Advanced Materials Award for the year 2018 given by IAAM, the SPIE Prism Award for photonic innovation and more.

Zeev is also a Fellow of several large scientific societies as OSA, SPIE, EOS, IOP, IET and IS&T. He is also a Fellow of the American National Academy of Inventors.

Guillermo H. Kaufmann received his DSc degree in physics in 1978 from the University of Buenos Aires, Argentina. He was a professor at the Physics Department of the National University of Rosario and a chief scientist of the National Council of Scientific and Technological Research. From 2008 to 2015, he was also the director of the French Argentine International Centre of Information and Systems Sciences. He is a fellow of SPIE and the Optical Society of America, and the recipient of the 2015 SPIE Chandra S. Vikram Award for Optical Metrology and the 2016 ICO Galileo Galilei Award.

Professor Philip Russell is a founding Director of the Max-Planck Institute for the Science of Light (MPL) and holds the Krupp Chair of Experimental Physics at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg. He obtained his D.Phil. degree in 1979 at the University of Oxford. His interests currently focus on scientific and technical applications of photonic crystal fibers. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society and the Optical Society (OSA) and has won a number of awards including the 2000 OSA Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize, the 2005 Thomas Young Prize of IOP, the 2005 Körber Prize for European Science, the 2013 EPS Prize for Research into the Science of Light, the 2014 Berthold Leibinger Zukunftspreis, the 2015 IEEE Photonics Award and the 2018 Rank Prize for Optoelectronics. He was OSA's President in 2015, the International Year of Light.

Pramod Rastogi received his MTech degree from the Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, and doctorate degree from the University of Franche Comté in France. He started his research at the EPFL in Switzerland 1978. He is the author or coauthor of over 175 scientific papers published in peer-reviewed archival journals. He is also the author of Encyclopaedia articles, and has edited/authored nine books in the fields of Holography, DSPI, Optical metrology & Digital Optical Signal Analysis with internationally reputed publishers:

Professor Rastogi is the 2014 recipient of the SPIE Dennis Gabor Award. He is also a Member of the Swiss Academy of Engineering Sciences. He is a Fellow of the Society of the Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (1995) and a Fellow of the Optical Society of America (1993). He is also a recipient of the "Hetényi Award" for the most significant research paper published in Experimental Mechanics in the year 1982.

Professor Rastogi is the co-editor-in-chief of the International journal of Optics and Lasers in Engineering, Elsevier.